College Football

Every finalist for the Walter Payton, Buck Buchanan and Jerry Rice Awards

Every finalist for the Walter Payton, Buck Buchanan and Jerry Rice Awards

The 2022 FCS Award finalists have been named, with players making the final cut for the Walter Payton, Buck Buchanan and Jerry Rice Awards. The winners for the Payton and Buchanan awards will be announced on Jan. 7 and the winner for the Rice award will be announced on Dec. 7.

FCS PLAYOFFS: Predictions, picks for every FCS playoff game and round

Let’s get into the finalists.

Walter Payton Award Finalists

Thirty finalists were named for the 2022 Walter Payton Award, an award presented to the best offensive player in the FCS.

Some notable names include quarterbacks Tim DeMorat and Lindsey Scott Jr., the two most prolific passers during the 2022 season. In the backfield, Jaleel McLaughlin is the all-time rushing leader in FCS history, while Hunter Luepke looks to become the first fullback to ever win the award. 

MORE: Walter Payton Award history

See the full list of finalists below.

Walter Payton Award Finalists

  • QB Tim DeMorat | Fordham
  • QB Cole Doyle | Saint Francis (PA)
  • QB Bailey Fisher | Gardner Webb
  • QB Michael Hiers | Samford
  • QB Parker McKinney | Eastern Kentucky
  • QB Tommy Mellott | Montana State
  • QB Davius Richard | North Carolina Central
  • QB Shedeur Sanders | Jackson State
  • QB Lindsey Scott Jr. | UIW
  • QB Matthew Sluka | Holy Cross
  • QB Reece Udinski | Richmond
  • RB Aidan Borguet | Harvard
  • RB Jake Chisholm | Dayton
  • RB Ailym Ford | Chattanooga
  • RB Ulonzo Gilliam Jr. | UC Davis
  • RB Geno Hess | Southeast Missouri State
  • RB Hunter Luepke | North Dakota State
  • RB Jaleel McLaughlin | Youngstown State
  • RB Deonta McMahon | McNeese
  • RB ShunDerrick Powell | North Alabama
  • RB Jaden Shirden | Monmouth
  • RB Cameron Skattebo | Sacramento State
  • RB Bhayshul Tuten | North Carolina A&T
  • WR Xavier Gipson | Stephen F. Austin
  • WR Devron Harper Jr. | Mercer
  • WR Joey Hobert | Utah Tech
  • WR Andrei Iosivas | Princeton
  • WR Fotis Kokosioulis | Fordham
  • WR Xavier Smith | Florida A&M
  • OL Cody Mauch | North Dakota State

Buck Buchanan Award Finalists

Thirty finalists…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at NCAA RSS…