College Football

Cook Named Davey O’Brien Semifinalist

Cook Named Davey O’Brien Semifinalist

COLUMBIA, Mo. – University of Missouri quarterback Brady Cook is one of 20 semifinalists for the National Quarterback Award, the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee announced Tuesday. 

Cook has been a key cog in the offense as Mizzou has run off to an 8-2 record and a No. 11 ranking in this week’s Associated Press poll. He is 201-of-296 for 2,746 yards with 17 touchdowns over six interceptions. One of Mizzou’s offensive captains, he’s completed almost 68% of his passes (67.9) and averaged 274.6 yards per game with a 160.7 QB rating. He’s fourth in the Southeastern Conference in yards per game (274.6) and ranks among the league’s top-five signal callers in the statistical rankings.

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The 47th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner honoring the winner will be held Monday, Feb. 19, 2024, at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

The next step in the process will be to select the award’s three finalists. The finalists will again be chosen based on voting from the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee as well as bonus ballots awarded from the second round of the Davey O’Brien Fan Vote.

For the fourth straight year, the Fan Vote takes place on the award’s three social media platforms —FacebookInstagram and Twitter (X)— and the top five vote getters on each platform will receive bonus committee member ballots which will be added to the votes cast by the National Selection Committee.

To participate in the Fan Vote, fans must like the original Davey O’Brien Award post highlighting their quarterback. The second round will be open until Friday, Nov. 24 at noon (CT). The three finalists will be tabbed on Tuesday, Nov. 28, while the winner will be announced live on Friday, Dec. 8, on The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN.

2023 Davey O’Brien Award Semifinalists

Carson Beck, Georgia, Jr., 6-4, 220, Jacksonville, Fla.

Brady Cook, Missouri, Jr., 6-2, 205, St. Louis, Mo.

Jayden Daniels, LSU, Sr., 6-4, 210, San Bernardino, Calif.

Jaxson Dart, Ole Miss, Jr., 6-2, 220, Kaysville, Utah

Quinn Ewers, Texas, So., 6-2, 195, Southlake, Texas

Dillon Gabriel, Oklahoma, Sr., 5-11, 204, Mililani, Hawaii

Sam Hartman, Notre Dame,…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at University of Missouri Athletics…