College Football

Nathaniel Watson Selected As C Spire Conerly Trophy Nominee

Nahaniel Watson at Texas A&M


Kelly Shipp, Associate Director/Communications

STARKVILLE – Mississippi State’s Nathaniel Watson was selected as a nominee for the 2023 C Spire Conerly Trophy.
Nine other nominees join Watson for the award, which is presented annually to Mississippi’s top college football player.
Other finalists include Aaron Allen (Alcorn State), Kolbe Blunt (Belhaven), Patrick Shegog (Delta State), Irv Mulligan (Jackson State), Ethan Klapatch (Millsaps College), Marcus Williams (Mississippi College), Rondey Luckett (Mississippi Valley State), Quinshon Judkins (Ole Miss) and Frank Gore Jr. (Southern Miss)
The 2023 C Spire Conerly Trophy winner will be announced during a presentation at the Country Club of Jackson on Tuesday, Nov. 28th, hosted by CBS football analyst Charles Davis. Tickets for the event are available online at or by stopping by the Hall of Fame office.
Watson, recently named a semifinalist for the Butkus Award, has had a career year in his final season wearing the Maroon and White. Through 10 games this season, Watson leads the SEC in sacks (9.0) and ranks second in total tackles (95).
On the year, he earned a tackle grade of 90.0, according to Pro Football Focus.
Throughout the 2023 campaign, Watson has been one of the best linebackers in the SEC. According to Pro Football Focus, Watson has earned a tackle grade of 90.0, a career mark for him and the best mark for any linebacker in the SEC this season. He also leads all SEC linebackers in total pressures (30) and hits on the quarterback.
On the year Watson has earned numerous…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Mississippi State…